Diocese of London

The Diocese of London was established in the Roman era.  The first Bishop whose name is known for certain was Bishop Restitutus who attended a Council at Arles in 314.  London reverted to paganism after the Saxon invasions and the See was reconstituted in 604 with the first St Paul’s as its Cathedral.  The new Diocese of London served the East Saxons covering the modern counties of Essex, Middlesex and Hertfordshire, lying entirely North of the Thames.

Today, the Diocese covers 277 square miles of Greater London North of the Thames, serving a population of 3.6 million.

The Bishop of London is the third most senior Bishop, after the Archbishops of Canterbury and York.  She is a member of the Privy Council and Dean of Her Majesty’s Chapels Royal.


Clickable maps: Explore the 5 Episcopal Areas of the Diocese of London and take a look at the Fairtrade status in the Diocese of London